678 ET Week 10: How are electronics viable additions to “crafting” for today’s young person?

How are electronics viable additions to “crafting” for today’s young person?

I believe that electronics are a viable addition to all industries today, especially in education. Our current day is a technology inspired era. Our students need to be familiar with the current inventions so that they are more prepared for tomorrow’s world. What better way to familiarize yourself with technology than tinkering with the devices?

Our focus topic is about crafting with electronics. Wearable fashion was something new to me, one of my favorites was Bike Turn Signal Jacket (Wired.com).

 

turn-signal

 

While I have been able to sew for a few decades now, it is nothing compared to what I learned this week. When I read the included articles, the wearable sites probably caught my eye the most. We have definitely moved passed the Bedazzled gun. I thought wow, I wonder if Cinna (Lenny Kravitz) used a comparable technology to set Katniss’ dress on fire.

Chibitronics was probably one of my favorite sites. I loved seeing all the design ideas how we could use simple circuits to do so much more. The site listed many classroom ideas and kits. The Craft page contains beginner tutorials, DIY cards, textiles, home décor, Holidays, and of course crafts.

 

 

Wearable technology is just one way that shows us how valuable electronics is to crafting for our students. It is another avenue for students to express themselves through learning and tinkering about our current technologies today. When students learn the electronic concepts through sites like Chibitronics, they have fun without realizing they are learning a new skill. Students are able to reapply the new concepts to other technologies.

 

Sources:
Martinez, S. L., & Stager, G. (2013). Invent to learn: Making, tinkering, and engineering in the classroom.

Einarson, Earl. (2013, Jan 02). Go Bionic With These Wearable Arduino Projects Retrieved July 21, 2016, from http://www.wired.com/2013/01/wearable-arduinos/

Qi, Jie. (2012). Interactive Light Painting: Pu Gong Ying Tu (Dandelion Painting). Retrieved July 21, 2016, from https://vimeo.com/40904471

Unknown. (N.D.). Chibitronics. Retrieved July 21, 2016, from https://chibitronics.com/

 

 

 


					
3 thoughts on “678 ET Week 10: How are electronics viable additions to “crafting” for today’s young person?

  1. Hi Josie, I agree that this technology is a great way to grab our kids and engage them in learning. They will have so much fun, they won’t even realize that they are becoming immersed in modern technology. As someone who has anxiety surrounding new technologies, I would have loved to be introduced to Chibitronics in such a fun and natural way. When being introduced to new technology, I have would feel like “it’s cool, I got this.” Thanks for the great post! Loved the circuit stickers video!

    Like

  2. There are great ideas that incorporate electronics and crafting! It’s been a fun week too for me. I remember when the digital photo frames first came out. It was great, but these new ideas are amazing. I researched e-waste and it was cool. What better way to recycle than to craft with this stuff! I agree that the costumes in Hunger Games definitely have electronic influences. I guess I’m getting old because seems like everything is better, flashier, and cooler! (Who says “cool” anymore?!) I tell my kids all the time they are lucky to live in this time frame of history, especially the advances of technology. They all need take advantage.

    Like

  3. Josie,

    First, I really enjoyed reading your post! I really did not realize just how much technology has spread across the arts and wearable fashion. When our students have time for creating, they are amazing at it. From past experiences I have had with them, I believe this Bike Turn Signal Jacket would be awesome! Our students at Lewis Anagapak Memorial School would probably have different applications to their design; since they ride bikes usually in daylight (after the snow has melted). The issue is more about seeing kids walking on the boardwalk during daylight hours with 4-wheelers and snow machines riding by.

    That craft site with beginner tutorials would awesome—especially projected onto a Smartboard and having students draw on the board.

    Thank you for sharing that chibitronics video!

    Aleta

    Like

Leave a Reply

